tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Moderator: Telldus

Post Reply
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

Hi,

I'm trying to send the following:

echo 'T\0x13\0x3A\0xA7\0x01\0x86\0xBB\0x94\0x14\0x11\0x14\0x41\0x14\0x11\0x14\0x41\0x41\0x44\0x44\0x41\0x41\0x11 \0x11\0x41\0x11\0x11\0x11\0x41\0x11\0x11\0x11\0x11\0x41\0x11\0x14\0x41\0x11\0x11\0x44\0x44+' | tdtool --raw -

But I'm only able to send

c:\Program Files (x86)\Telldus>echo 'T\0x13\0x3A\0xA7\0x00\0x86\0xBB\0x94\0x14\0x11\0x14\0x41\0x14\0x11\0x14\0x41\0x41\0x44\0x44\0x41+' | tdtool --raw -

So for some reason I'm only able to send a limited amout of bytes even when using the extended variant, why?

Best regards,
/R
micke.prag
Site Admin
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am
Location: Lund
Contact:

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by micke.prag »

You are sending the same length in both commands.
Micke Prag
Software
Telldus Technologies
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

Please explain as the first command doesn't work, the second does?
micke.prag
Site Admin
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am
Location: Lund
Contact:

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by micke.prag »

As I said above. You are sending the same length in both commands.
You can read more about the T-command here:
http://developer.telldus.com/doxygen/TellStick.html
Micke Prag
Software
Telldus Technologies
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

Hi,

I think we are misinterpreting each other:

I get the following when sending the first one:
Sending raw command: An error occurred while communicating with TellStick

But I don't get this on the second one.

My concern is that I'm not able to send all 134 pulses.

Best regards,
/Roger
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

To make this more clear:

I want to send the following using tdtool, how?

'R', 15, 'P', 0, 'T', 19, 58, 167, 0, 134, 187,148,20,17,20,65,20,17,20,65,65,68,68,65,65,17,17,65,17,17,17,65,17,17,17,17,65,17,20,65,17,17,68,68+

Best regards,
/Roger
micke.prag
Site Admin
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am
Location: Lund
Contact:

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by micke.prag »

Do you get the same error if you feed from a file instead?
Micke Prag
Software
Telldus Technologies
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

Exactly the same error!

code.txt contains:
'R', 15, 'P', 0, 'T', 19, 58, 167, 0, 134, 187,148,20,17,20,65,20,17,20,65,65,68,68,65,65,17,17,65,17,17,17,65,17,17,17,17,65,17,20,65,17,17,68,68+

Then from cmd I run:

tdtool --raw code.txt
Sending raw command: Could not connect to the Telldus Service

type code.txt|tdtool --raw -
Sending raw command: Could not connect to the Telldus Service

same result with the hex formatted variant.

/R
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

I also saw that several others had problems with larger pulsetrains:

echo -ne '\x54\x7F\xFF\x18\x01\x00\x9A\x8A\x8A\x8A\x8A\x88\xA8\xAA\x8A\x8A\x88\xA8\xAA\x88\xA8\xA8\xAA\x8A\x8A\x8A\x8A\x88\xA8\xAA\x88\xA8\xAA\x88\xAA\x8A\x8A\x88\xA8\x2B' | tdtool --raw -

The above doesn't work but below does, why?

echo -ne '\x54\x7f\xff\x18\x11\x84\x9a\x8a\x8a\x88\xa8\xaa\x8a\x8a\x8a\x8a\x88\xaa\x8a\x88\xa8\xa8\xa8\xaa\x88\xa8\xa8\xaa\x88\xaa\x88\xaa\x8a\x88\xaa\x8a\x8a\x8a\x8a\x2b' | tdtool --raw -
micke.prag
Site Admin
Posts: 2243
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am
Location: Lund
Contact:

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by micke.prag »

rpauto wrote:Exactly the same error!

code.txt contains:
'R', 15, 'P', 0, 'T', 19, 58, 167, 0, 134, 187,148,20,17,20,65,20,17,20,65,65,68,68,65,65,17,17,65,17,17,17,65,17,17,17,17,65,17,20,65,17,17,68,68+

Then from cmd I run:

tdtool --raw code.txt
Sending raw command: Could not connect to the Telldus Service

type code.txt|tdtool --raw -
Sending raw command: Could not connect to the Telldus Service

same result with the hex formatted variant.

/R
This is not the same error.
Micke Prag
Software
Telldus Technologies
rpauto
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2023 9:45 am

Re: tdtool in windows does not accept long enough command

Post by rpauto »

Maybe you could instruct how to send it?
Post Reply