Remotestick (Android)

Moderator: Telldus

Cptnodegard
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by Cptnodegard » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Picked up a Sony Smartwatch a couple of hours ago. I bought it after finding a Chinese plug in for it called AppWidgetDisplay, that allows you to display and use stock Android widgets on the watch, which has a color touchscreen.

Short story even shorter: here's how it works with Remotestick

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZc9vva5nLM

For all the swedes here, Dustinhome has this watch for 799 SEK. I bought it from Dustinhome Norway for 630 NOK

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Cptnodegard wrote:Picked up a Sony Smartwatch a couple of hours ago. I bought it after finding a Chinese plug in for it called AppWidgetDisplay, that allows you to display and use stock Android widgets on the watch, which has a color touchscreen.

Short story even shorter: here's how it works with Remotestick

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZc9vva5nLM

For all the swedes here, Dustinhome has this watch for 799 SEK. I bought it from Dustinhome Norway for 630 NOK
Interesting and very creative! I actually got a Smartwatch from Sony some time ago but I've never had the time to implement support for it directly unfortunately.

Cptnodegard
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by Cptnodegard » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

They have two, and the latest one with a touchscreen is really the only one capable of this. Anyways, I made my own little control widget in UCCW: http://t.co/nwyuTLVYgH
Three of those buttons point to Tasker shortcuts that run Remotestick plugin actions

Cptnodegard
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by Cptnodegard » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

I just posted a full tutorial for using the watch with Tasker here:
http://www.pocketables.com/2013/03/how- ... asker.html

With Remotestick's excellent Tasker support, you can use that to create anything you want for the watch. Control buttons for single switch, groups, scenarios. Make watch widgets that display sensor information, sensor info + buttons, whatever you want.

M203
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by M203 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

gein wrote:Men om vi går ifrån kostnadsfrågan för en sekund. Vad skulle man vilja ha för typ av funktion som denna nya lösning kan ge? Utöver det självklara - att få push-meddelanden direkt i telefonen när vissa sensorer/enheter uppdateras.

Förslag:
Kunna välja vilka enheter som ska generera push-meddelanden
Sätta villkor som ska generera push-meddelanden (t.ex. när en sensor är över ett visst värde)
Eventstyrning direkt från tjänsten (utan att behöva gå via telefonen)
Loggning, grafer

Annat?
Ovanstående är bra! Skulle vilja att pushmeddelanden till luren ska kunna hanteras som context i Tasker via remotestick plugin. Exempelvis att magnekontakt bryts när posten kommer, triggar tasker och vidare en notifiering via autonotification pluginen.

Tack för en bra app. Tillhör dem som gärna betalar en slant per år för push.

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Jag skulle gärna vilja ha lite feedback på widgetarna i senaste uppdateringen. Uppdaterar den som den ska eller fastnar den i Loading? Jag har tidigare återskapat felet genom att sätta på Airplane mode och därefter starta om telefonen. Då hamnar widgeten i Loading. Om jag sen slår av Airplane mode och väntar en stund så tycker sensor-värdet upp igen. Tror det i värsta fall kan ta en kvart, eftersom det är uppdateringsfrekvensen just nu.

Men som sagt, vill gärna höra era erfarenheter då en kommentar på Google Play antyder att det inte fungerar.
Last edited by gein on Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

M203
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by M203 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Gjorde enligt din beskrivning. Airplane mode, omstart, widgetarna står som loading, sätter airplane mode off. Tog någon minut och sen var widgetarna populerade med data igen. Inga problem med andra ord.

/P

Kicken
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by Kicken » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

gein wrote:Jag skulle gärna vilja ha lite feedback på widgetarna i senaste uppdateringen. Uppdaterar den som den ska eller fastnar den i Loading? Jag har tidigare återskapat felet genom att sätta på Airplane mode och därefter starta om telefonen. Då hamnar widgeten i Loading. Om jag sen slår av Airplane mode och väntar en stund så tycker sensor-värdet upp igen. Tror det i värsta fall kan ta en kvart, eftersom det är uppdateringsfrekvensen just nu.

Men som sagt, vill gärna höra era erfarenheter då en kommentar på Google Play antyder att det inte fungerar.
Mina termometrar uppdateras :D men switcharna laddar hela tiden :( .

Xperia P, ICS

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Kicken wrote:Mina termometrar uppdateras :D men switcharna laddar hela tiden :( .
Alright, tack för input!

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Kicken wrote:Mina termometrar uppdateras :D men switcharna laddar hela tiden :( .
Nu ska det också vara fixat!

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Har satt upp ett Twitter-konto för Remotestick också: @remotestick.

Cptnodegard
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by Cptnodegard » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Managed to break Remotestick beyond recognition today. Out of the blue it started crashing, and crashing, and crashing. I force closed it, froze and defroze it, restore app and data using Titanium Backup, and nothing helped. In the end, restoring an old version of the app and then updating the app solved it. I wasn't able to grab a log, unfortunately, and I wasn't using Remotestick at the time- I only use it through Tasker, so I suspect something went horribly wrong with something there. Just a head's up, will grab logs if it happens again

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Cptnodegard wrote:Managed to break Remotestick beyond recognition today. Out of the blue it started crashing, and crashing, and crashing. I force closed it, froze and defroze it, restore app and data using Titanium Backup, and nothing helped. In the end, restoring an old version of the app and then updating the app solved it. I wasn't able to grab a log, unfortunately, and I wasn't using Remotestick at the time- I only use it through Tasker, so I suspect something went horribly wrong with something there. Just a head's up, will grab logs if it happens again
Ouch. Doesn't sound that good. Logs would definitely help. Maybe I should re-add the feature of sending crash logs remotely. It was there in early version but I removed it.

gein
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by gein » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Nästa release, 2.6.0 kommer stödja egen server (så länge den "härmar" Live!:s APIer). tellprox är ett alternativ som tydligen fungerar bra med nästa version av Remotestick.
Se https://github.com/p3tecracknell/tellprox

Så för de som är intresserade så kan det vara aktuellt att testa sätta upp tellprox redan nu. Nästa version av Remotestick kommer sannolikt före helgen.

Nexauser
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Remotestick (Android)

Post by Nexauser » Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:08 am

Hur är status kring push delen - stöder Live! detta nu eller återstår det?

Post Reply